Royal School Armagh and Strathearn School to Face Off in Belfast Telegraph Girls Senior Cup Final on International Women’s Day

Share this article

The Belfast Telegraph Girls Senior Cup Final is set to take place this Wednesday, March 8, which coincides with International Women’s Day. Royal School Armagh earned their spot in the final by defeating Banbridge Academy 4-1 in the semi-final, while Strathearn School narrowly defeated Belfast Royal Academy 1-0 in their semi-final match.

The two schools will face off at Stormont’s Playball Pitches, with the pushback scheduled for 2pm. Hockey fans and supporters of women’s sports are encouraged to come out and show their support for the girls.

The Royal School Armagh players are hoping to continue their winning streak and secure the cup for their school. However, Strathearn School will be tough competition, having proven their skills on the field in their semi-final match.

In the spirit of International Women’s Day, the Belfast Telegraph Girls Senior Cup Final is an opportunity to celebrate the talents and accomplishments of these young female athletes. Fans of field hockey and supporters of gender equality are invited to attend and cheer on the players.

The programme for Wednesday’s final can be found at the following link:…/beltel-senior-cup-final.html.

Belfast Telegraph will also be live blogging the entire game so keep an eye on their website here:

The hashtags #IWD23, #IWD2023, #FieldHockey, #SchoolsHockey, #EmbraceEquity, #FieldHockeyIsLife, and #FieldHockeyLife can be used on social media as fans of the sport and women’s sports enthusiasts gear up for the final.

Strathearn School Team List:

1 Eva Ralston GK

2 Sophie Hoey

3 Ruby Rebbeck

4 Jess Ryan VC

6 Niamh Hatfield C

7 Lucie McNaught

10 Karis Hamilton

11 Rhiannon Davies

12 Connie Hanna

16 Emmy Thornton

17 Erin McClure

19 Georgia Thornton

20 Anna Kirk

21 Sarah Tweedie GK

24 Eva Kissenpfennig

28 Kate Hunter

30 Mac Eager

Coaches and Staff

Sally Young, Naomi Grundie and Ali Scott

Royal School Armagh Team List:

1 Jessica George GK

2 Lucy Ferris VC

3 Rhianna Gillespie

4 Joni Cunningham

5 Beth Monaghan

6 Ellie Stevenson

7 Chloe McBride

8 Ellie Edwards

9 Anna McKew C

10 Scarlett Taylor

11 Annie Cunningham

12 Hannah Smith

16 Niamh Smith

17 Gabriella Moore

18 Grace McCool

19 Daisy Nicholson

31 Vicky Cupples GK

Coaches and Staff

Greg Thompson, Sarah Welshman, Sam Shepherd and Jareth McCready

Supporters & Partners

Official Charity Partner

Recruitment Partner