Share this article

Ulster Hockey is delighted to confirm the Under 16 male and female squads for 2021-22.

Selection comes after a long period of assessments and all players who have made it onto their respective panels should be congratulated for their commitment and resilience after a difficult 18 months due to Covid restrictions.

Following discussions and consultations over the last number of months the format for the Interprovincial competitions has been revised and matches will take place throughout the season with a finals day for each age group in 2022.

Further details around Ulster’s hosting venues will be confirmed in due course.

Ulster U16 girls fixtures:

Sunday 14th November Ulster v Connacht (Three Rock Rovers)

Sunday 12th December Ulster v Leinster South (Three Rock Rovers)

Sunday 16th January Ulster v Leinster (Ulster)

Sunday 6th February Ulster v Munster (Three Rock Rovers)

Sunday 3rd April Finals Day


Ulster U16 boys fixtures:

Sunday 7th November Ulster v Munster (Three Rock Rovers)

Sunday 5th December Ulster v Leinster (Ulster)

Sunday 27th February Ulster v Munster (Three Rock Rovers)

Sunday 10th April Ulster v Leinster (Three Rock Rovers)

Sunday 15th May Finals Day


  • 18 players will be selected from the panel for each Interpro game
  • The same 18 players may not play every game
  • Some players may not be selected for an Interpro game.
  • Development games will also take place through the season.


Ulster U16 girls Head Coach Davy Menaul: ‘We are all really looking forward to our opening game next month. With the new interpro format it allows for more contact time with the athletes and we can select from a bigger squad. This group have dedicated themselves to our programme to date and I look forward to watching the group continuing to progress and reach their full potential.’

Ulster Talent Coach Shirley McCay: ‘I am delighted to see our panels confirmed after a period of development sessions since the middle of June. Since the UK Lions series both groups have shown commitment to training and their progression since then has been wonderful to see. It is especially pleasing for us to have 28 girls and 30 boys in our squads, with 23 of these players with another year at U16 age group in 2022-23. Development at this age group is key and working with a bigger group allows us to engage more players for a longer period of time. We have quality and depth in these groups, and it certainly bodes well for the future of our underage programmes. The new structure of the interpros means that we can select from a larger panel and the same squad does not have to play in every game. I am looking forward to the coming months and wish all the players and staff the best of luck.’

Ulster U16 Boys Panel 2021-22
Tom Archbold Friends’ Lisnagarvey HC
Harvey Begg Wallace HS Lisnagarvey HC
Oliver Berry Methodist College Banbridge HC
Robbie Brown Bangor Grammar Bangor HC
Ethan Clotworthy Ballyclare HS Mossley HC
Iain Cruickshank Cookstown HS Cookstown HC
John Cunningham RBAI Lisnagarvey HC
Oscar Eakin Portadown College Portadown HC
Michael Girvin Sullivan Upper CI Men’s HC
Denver Golbey Banbridge Academy Banbridge HC
Jj Holley Bangor Grammar Bangor HC
Michael Hollway RBAI Instonians HC
Connor Johnston Wallace HS South Antrim
Ben Law Campbell College Bangor HC
Matthew McAreavey RBAI Instonians HC
Carter McClure Friends’ Lisnagarvey HC
Adam McKee Banbridge Academy Banbridge HC
Matthew McLearnon Wallace HS Lisnagarvey HC
Sam McMillan Bangor Grammar Bangor HC
William McMullan Wallace HS Lisnagarvey HC
James McQuitty Portadown College Portadown HC
Theo Milligan Tandragee Junior High Portadown HC
Lukas Moles Banbridge Academy Banbridge HC
Eoin O’Neill RBAI Instonians HC
Josh Osborne Banbridge Academy Portadown HC
George Palmer RBAI Instonians HC
Milo Thompson Wallace HS Lisnagarvey HC
Ben Thompson Banbridge Academy Portadown HC
Oliver Tumilty Wallace HS Lisnagarvey HC
Max Wylie Cookstown HS Cookstown HC


Ulster U16 girls Panel 2021-22
Alyssa Boyd Regent House School Ards HC
Annie Cunningham Royal School Armagh Lurgan LHC
Callie McWhirter Ballyclare High School Mossley LHC
Charlie Bowman Wallace HS Lisnagarvey HC
Chloe Patton Markethill High School Armagh HC
Chrissy Hopkins Friends’ School Lisburn Lisnagarvey HC
Darcy Shields Strathearn Pegasus HC
Ellie Burgess Grosvenor Belfast Harlequins HC
Emily Crawford Ballyclare Secondary Mossley LHC
Erin Pim Methodist College Belfast Pegasus HC
Georgina McGuckin Rainey Endowed
Grace Cowden Ballyclare High School Randalstown HC
Grace McCool Royal School Armagh Armagh HC
Holly Beckinsale Belfast High School Mossley LHC
Isla Allen Larne Grammar Larne HC
Joni Cunningham Royal School Armagh Lurgan LHC
Joy Duncan Ballyclare High School Mossley LHC
Kate Spillane Rainey Endowed Rainey HC
Katie Herron Killicomaine Junior High School Portadown LHC
Kia McCartney Coleraine Grammar Coleraine HC
Lily Gallagher Royal School Dungannon Dungannon HC
Lola Henderson Rainey Endowed Rainey HC
Rachel Beattie Belfast Royal Academy Mossley LHC
Rachel Lennon Portadown College Portadown LHC
Rebekah Lennon Killicomaine Junior High School Portadown LHC
Ruby Monaghan Glenlola Bangor HC
Scarlett Taylor Royal School Armagh Armagh HC
Zoë Place Belfast Royal Academy Owls HC

Supporters & Partners

Official Charity Partner

Recruitment Partner